AGM Outcome
Great Ocean Road Running Festival, Vic
Run narawntapu, Tas
Upcoming Events

We are always on the hunt for your stories and reports, so with June Ultramag coming out next month, send in your incredible tales to And remember, it doesn’t have to be about an AURA-listed event specifically!

If any corrections need to be made in any of the results listed below, please do so via email by contacting Kate Dzienis at


AURA’s AGM was held on Wednesday, 24 May and unfortunately we saw president Ewan Horsburgh step down from the role after a successful three years in the position. We wish Ewan all the best; thanking him for all the time he’s given the association in growing it to what it is today.

As we say goodbye to Ewan though, we welcome on board Simone Hayes, who moves from the Treasurer role into President – AURA’s first ever female to do so. Simone has an incredible background of ultra running behind her and is extremely passionate and dedicated to the sport. You can read her President’s Letter here, which has been released as a part of the May edition of Ultramag.

The AGM also saw a new array of State Representatives into the fold. Every year, AURA asks its members to put their hands up and become representatives of the association, thus representing the sport of ultra running, in their home state. To see our amazing collection of State Reps for the 2023-24 year, you can click here!


It was a record breaking Great Ocean Road Running Festival on 21 May, where participants could opt to enter anything from 6km to a 60km ultra, both road and trail. The event saw a record 9,350 registered participants compete across all nine events, and it was a sell-out event for the ultra – of which there were 161 finishers.  

An incredible result in the Men’s 60km, with AURA’s Dion Finocchiaro from Brighton, Vic taking home 1st Male with an astonishing time of 3:50:15 – a decent 20 minute lead ahead of 2nd Male getter Theo Langlois (4:10:04). Ben Harris held on for 3rd Male (4:18:03).

In the Women’s 60km, we also so an AURA top spot claimed, with AURA member Alice Hall from Scarborough, WA claim 1st Female following a stellar finish of 4:58:54. Tara Carson took 2nd Female (5:00:25) whilst AURA’s very own Kathleen Judge from Tugun, Qld walked away with a fantastic 3rd Female, crossing the finish line in 5:06:40.

Congratulations to all our AURA members who ran in the 60km including Phil Ryan (5:31:22) and Dmitry Pupkov(5:35:44).

For the full list of results, including the marathon and half marathon, click here.


Held on 28 May at narawntapu National Park in Greens Beach, Tas the Run narawntapu offered a scenic, stunning and culturally rich environment for endurance runners of all levels – athletes were given the option to enter the 52km, 25km or 12km with a cap of 200 runners in total on the day.

In the Men’s 52km, podium finishes were awarded to Jamis Turner (4:08:32), Grant Houniet (4:09:54) and Gareth Hinds (4:10:48). In the Women’s 52km, winners were Suzi Stiso (4:48:43), Laura Fitzgerald (5:30:06) and Jacqueline Goudy (5:59:05).

Congratulations to AURA member David Campbell who finished the race in 5:24:48, a job well done!  

To see the full results, including the 25km and 12km, click here.


June sees the BUTTER 24/48 in Southport, Qld from 2-4 June, the Red Dirt Backyard Ultra in Karratha, WA from 10-11 June, the Southern Sydney 24hr Ultra in Leumeah, NSW from 10-12 June, and the Adelaide 24hr Festival in Glen Davis, NSW from 10-11 June.

The Glow Worm Tunnel Marathon Weekend will be held from 16-17 June in Glen Davis, NSW and the Kennards Hire BVRT100s – which is doubling up as the 100 Mile Australian Championships – will be held in Ipswich, Qld from 17-19 June.

Antsy for Anstey is due on 17 June in Tea Tree Gully, SA whilst the Australian Backyard Masters kicks off another year in Runnymede, Qld from 17-20 June. Transcend will be held on 25 June at Walyunga National Park, WA.

Pictured: The Top 2 of the Great Ocean Road Running Festival’s 60km Men’s event: (L) 2nd Male Theo Langlois and AURA’s Dion Finocchiaro with his 1st Male win.