SA 100 Track Championship, Adelaide

In an average 36 degree weekend in Adelaide, participants in the SA 100 Track Championships really got hit with the heat whilst they ran either a 100kms or 50kms event at Santos Stadium. But they came out on top and smashed the trackside with some amazing times considering the uncontrolled circumstances.

It was another AURA podium finish for the 100kms event, of which there were no female entries. Congratulations goes out to Darren Linney from Paradise, SA who took home the title of first place with a time of 8:16:19 – it was an average lap time of 1min 59secs. He was followed by Greg Ponych in second (10:34:18) from Wishart, Qld and then William MacNeill in third (12:45:49) from Adelaide.

David Billett claimed fourth overall with his finish time of 12:56:57, and Colin Brooks pushed hard and strong in the M60-64 age division to make it just under the 14hr cut off with time to spare, taking victory in 13:52:31.

In the 50kms event, finishes were strong by AURA members also, with Graham Tottey from Adelaide with a time of 5:37:18, and Merle Carter from Hallett Cove, SA totalling 7:30:43 in the women’s division.

Given the conditions all participants had to face on the track, they did a great job and put in the hard yards. Congratulations to all our AURA members who finished in the SA Track 100 Championship.

Featured Image: Colin Brooks after his finish in the 100kms SA Track 100 Championship. Photograph – Ben Pyman/Facebook. 

Image Right: Darren Linney taking his first place podium finish at the SA Track 100 Championship for the 100kms. Photograph – Facebook.