Coast to Kosciuszko, NSW
Bruny Island 64k, Tas
GoodRunnings 6/12, SA
fisiocrem GC50 Run Festival, (Australian 50km Championships), Qld
Upcoming Events
Membership Renewals
2023 Championship Races

Our end-of-year edition of Ultramag will be coming out in mid-December and we want your stories! Race reports, race director wrap-ups, story ideas/pitches, tips and advice from coaches – we want it all to make it our biggest edition of the year! Please consider putting fingers-to-keyboard and emailing us your experiences. They don’t have to be about AURA listed events either. So long as you’re an AURA member, we want to hear all about it! Email to get into our November-December bumper edition.


What an incredible effort by every single participant at this year’s Coast to Kosciuszko! One of Australia’s most iconic ultra and endurance events was held last weekend, with runners taking off from the startline on Friday, 2 Dec and given until Sunday to complete the 240km distance.

If you haven’t checked out the beautiful photography by Nathan Damcevski on the event’s Facebook page, we strongly encourage you to take a look.

Forty-eight runners took to the race – 28 of those AURA members.

Without further ado, 1st Male across the finish line to complete the 2022 distance in a stellar 27:53:41 was AURA’s very own Rob Mason from NSW; congratulations Rob on your incredible achievement in securing first finisher!

Second and 3rd Males went to Nicholas Bamford (29:17:21) and Tim Kacprzak 30:02:47) respectively.

Another brilliant performance by AURA’s Maree Connor (Artarmon, NSW) too, who finished 1st Female in an amazing official time of 30:51:28, whilst AURA member Allicia Heron from Theodore, ACT won 2nd Female in 32:33:33 and AURA’s Bec Howe from Mount Eliza, Vic took 3rd Female after finishing her race in 33:37:42.

Let’s face it – 240km to get to the top of Australia is not easy. Congratulations goes out to all our AURA members who faced C2K over the weekend, including Andrew Heyden (32:29:24), John Yoon (33:23:52), Mark Avery (34:13:40), Nikki Wynd (34:53:27), Luke Thompson (35:20:52), Pam Muston (36:03:58), Marcus Cockshutt (36:49:13), Jenny Morris (37:16:54), Isobel Ross (38:20:08), Mark Firth (38:24:47), David Billett (38:36:26), Kathryn Austin (38:48:09), Thomas Dade (39:57:00), Cian Gray (40:28:07), Trevor Allen (40:49:13), Melissa Robertson (41:04:14), Renae Brock (43:22:30), Zed Zlotnick (45:13:45) and Xanthe Spindler (45:27:39). Brilliant efforts by Doug Richardson, Sarah Foster, Barry Keem, Kevin Heaton and Kirsten Maplestone.

For the full list of results, click here.


The Bruny Island 64k Ultra was held on 3 December in Bruny Island, Tas and saw 76 runners cross the finish line in the solo event – 19 women and 57 men). There were 80 starters.

Top spots for the women went to Annabel De Jong (5:29:11), Eloise Nairn-Smith (5:36:34) and Isabelle Warner (6:32:07). For the men, it was Brian Lyons (4:46:21), Andrew Gaskell (4:56:54) and Chris Lewinski (4:59:39).

There were also a number of teams that got together to run the event and were put into categories – Team Over 40, Team Business, Team Fastest, Team of 2, Team Junior, Team Local, Team Over 55, Team Social and Team Sports.

A full list of results is available via the Bruny Island Ultra Facebook Group Page, located here.


The GoodRunnings 6/12 was held in Glenelg, SA from 3-4 December, offering runners a chance to participate in an event for either 6 hours or 12 hours.

In the Women’s 6hr event, podium spots went to Margot Bradley (50.331km), Rhianna Toolan (47.950km) and Debra Pelgrave (47.849km).

In the Men’s 6hr, winners were Shane Farley (64.272km) and AURA’s very own Dave Brown (51.942km) – congratulations Dave! Third went to David Mitchell (50.770km).

In the Women’s 12hr, top positions were awarded to Holly Ranson (136.722km) and Melissa Knowles (46.163km).

The Men’s 12hr saw spots go to Brad Abbott (93.019km) and AURA member David Patterson from Hamlyn Heights, Vic who took a distance of 92.447km. Third was won by another AURA member, Tamas Lorincz from Windsor Gardens, SA who finished with a total of 85.418km.  

Congratulations also to AURA’s Benjamin Anchor who ran in the 12hr and finished with 51.292km.

For the full list of results, click here to be taken to GoodRunning’s event page for the 6/12.


The fisiocrem GC50 Run Festival was held on Sunday, 4 December in Coolangatta, Qld and also doubled up as the Australian 50km Championships.

Winners of the Men’s 50km, and in turn the Men’s 50km Championships, were Ben Maccronan (3:01:55) for 1st Male, and AURA member Wayne Spies from Wishart Brisbane, Qld who secured himself 2nd Male in a time of 3:02:03. Third went to Thomas Brimelow (3:11:59).

Winners of the Women’s 50km, and in turn the Women’s 50km Championships, saw two AURA members take 2nd and 3rd! First Female went to Riine Ringi (3:23:15), but 2nd Female was won by Kirstin Bull from St Kilda, Vic in 3:34:59 and 3rd was taken out by Nicola Bowker from North Lakes, Qld in 3:38:14.

Congratulations to every single AURA member who ran in the 50km, including those who landed in the top 100 – Kevin Muller (3:37:55), Kyoko Miura (3:50:05), Greta Truscott (3:52:15) and Kathleen Judge (3:54:02).

There were 374 participants in the 50km event, and all results can be found here on the GC50 Run Festival’s website.


This weekend, happening from today (10-11 December) is the Narrabeen Allnighter in Narrabeen, NSW. 6 Inch Trail Marathon will be the last AURA listed event of the 2023 year, kicking off on 18 December in Dwellingup, WA.


Now is the time to renew your memberships for 2023!

When you renew your AURA membership before 5 January, 2023 you’ll go into the draw to win a race of your choice (a race on AURA’s calendar of events) to the value of $500.

The winner will be drawn on 6 January, 2023 so this is a great time to take advantage of everything our memberships have to offer!*

Click here to renew your membership and be in the draw.


Keep an eye out on our AURA Facebook group page for detailed information on the new year’s championships races, which AURA Secretary Stephen Redfern will be providing news on! He has already posted about the 48hr Track Championships news, which will be held at the Sri Chinmoy 48 Hour Track Festival – stay tuned in the group for more in the coming days!

Pictured: Male and Female winners of this year’s Coast to Kosci, AURA members Rob Mason and Maree Connor. Photographs – Nathan Damcevski.


*Terms & Conditions

  • Must be a fully paid member for 2023 by 5 January, 2023 to be eligible.
  • Winnings paid are for one race only (cannot be used for multiple races).
  • Prize will be reimbursed on presentation of entered race receipt from the winner to a nominated bank account.
  • Race entry must be obtained in 2023.
  • Money cannot be transferred to another person.