Loading Events

« All Events

Ned Kelly Chase

October 26, 2019 - October 27, 2019

Including a 100km solo run, 50km solo run, marathon, half marathon, 100km bicycle chase, 50km bicycle chase and 10km fun run, the Ned Kelly Chase embraces the true spirit of the chase and celebrates a remarkable period in our Nation’s history. All events (except the 10km fun run) have variable start times that ensure entrants of all levels experience a “big” finish by aiming to finish near 12pm.

The Ned Kelly Chase is at its heart a 100km running event. It utilises 100% sealed cycle and walking paths in North East Victoria, Australia. Its first 50km is an out and back on the world renowned Murray to Mountains Rail Trail. The second 50km is also an out and back, but on the cycle paths through Wangaratta on the banks of the Ovens River and One Mile Creeks, plus the cycle paths out through Oxley to Milawa. All shorter event use the second 50km section for their journey.

The 100km and 50km bicycle chase entrants are each provided with random “arrest” warrants before they begin the chase. Warrant are for the runners on course and the troopers’ task is to find the runners and arrest them before they finish their run. The chase is on!

Included in the entry fee is high quality merchandise, plus a ticket to the event presentations and dinner. That dinner is a BBQ and pizza feast at a local hotel and is sure to allow for tales of success and woe to be shared by all..

The course is a “B” grade measure AIMS / IAAF certified 100km (including the 25km, 50km and 75km splits). Entrants have customized event bibs and customised Ned Kelly Helmet medals for all finishers. We invite you to join us in North East Victoria in October.

When: Next event is 27 October 2019.   The 2019 event incorporates the AURA National Championship 100km race.

How long in existence: 2013 was the inaugural year



Ned Kelly Chase Solo Winners 100km

2018Stephen Redfern7:57:39Nikki Wynd9:24:34
2017Daragh O'Loughlin8:57:42Natasha Fraser8:16:30
2016David Overend8:33:36Larissa Tichon9:05:37
2015Francesco Ciancio7:54:39Amelia Griffith9:41:44
2014Dion Finocchiaro7:32:29Joanne Tremonti10:07:58
2013Moritz auf der Heide7:39:15Shannon-Leigh Litt (NZL)8:46:42

Ned Kelly Chase Best times 50km

2018John Shaw3:34:18Tia Jones3:48:53
2017Nick Creek4:06:21Kyoko Miura4:19:12
2016David Fraser3:56:51Rachel Glasson3:35:58
2015Rick Cooke3:47:39Tessa Hinds4:36:23
2014Luke Stratford3:53:02Muriel McLean4:50:00
2013Moritz auf der Heide3:30:21Shannon-Leigh Litt4:06:42



October 26, 2019
October 27, 2019
Event Category:


Wangaratta, Victoria 3677 Australia


IAU Label