Loading Events

« All Events

  • This event has passed.

Canberra 48hr Race

March 15, 2019 - March 17, 2019

Welcome to the silver IAU label CBR.48hr, 24hr, 12hr, 6hr, 100k and marathon track races, this now “Annual Event” will be hosted at the AIS (Australian Institute of Sport) in Canberra. On a certified 400 metre track.

“Continuing in 2019 is the Friday night marathon and the 48hr International Challenge.”

Also included is an official 100km IAU Bronze label race distance within the 12hr event. Just enter the 12hr event and notify us by email that you will be running a 100km and if you feel good keep going for the full 12hr! If your are part of the international challenge please let us know by email or prior to race start on the day.

Our aim is to provide a quality track race that is for runners by runners and walkers. We have chosen the AIS Canberra as the venue because the facilities are top quality, this will allow both runners and crew the best chance of a great race.

Throughout the weekends racing there will be turn around in direction approximately every four hours.

  • 48 hour race begins at 12:00hrs on Friday 15th March 2019 and ends 12:00hrs Sunday 17th March 2019.
  • 42.2k marathon starts at 18:00hrs on Friday 15th March 2019 ( no time limit )
  • 24 hour race begins at 09:00hrs on Saturday 16th March 2019 and ends 09:00hrs Sunday 17th March 2019.
  • 12 hour/100km race begins at 12:00hrs on Saturday 16th March 2019 and ends 24:00hrs Saturday 16th March 2019.
  • 6 hour race begins at 12:00hrs on Saturday 16th March 2019 and ends 18:00hrs Saturday 16th March 2019

All events will be followed by an official awards presentation and photography, each event will have Trophies and prizes for first three male and female finishers.

This event is a runners event with a family atmosphere amongst helpers and athletes (most of the organising team are or have been ultra runners).

Whether you are an experienced ultra veteran, or first-timer keen to explore the realms beyond the marathon, we look forward to welcoming you and encourage you to participate in this special event.


The Canberra 48h is the AURA Australian 48h National Championships for 2019

Winners in recent years:

Canberra 48h, 48h

2018Kevin Muller340.002Kerrie Williamson322.011
2017Mick Thwaites404.560Susan Keith316.077
2016Mick Thwaites413.059Nikki Wynd343.044

Canberra 48h, 24h

2018Luca Turrini221.184Tracy Turner148.724
2017Kevin Muller227.731Sharon Scholz206.201
2016Barry Loveday257.953Jess Baker230.395

Canberra 48h, 12h

2018Malcolm Gamble132.253Tia Jones131.066
2017Matthew Eckford134.715Tia Jones128.289
2016Francesco Ciancio124.841Kathryn Austin108.735

Canberra 48h, 6h

2018Ewan Horsburgh64.823Kerry Smith61.094
2017Ewan Horsburgh72.180Kerry Smith60.638
2016John Pearson63.119Kerrie Bremner56.059


March 15, 2019
March 17, 2019
Event Category:


Billy Pearce
0401 475 942


2018 National 48h Championship
IAU Label


Australian Institute of Sport, Canberra
Leverrier St
Bruce, ACT 2617 Australia