We held AURA’s AGM remotely on Monday 31st May 2021. The President, Vice President, and Treasurer were re-elected while our Secretary was newly elected. 

I am happy to announce the following committee positions have been elected:

President: Ewan Horsburgh
Vice President: Matthew Eckford,
Secretary: Stephen Redfern
Treasurer: Simone Hayes

The following members have stepped up for roles as state reps.

QLD: Dan Symonds, John Pearson
SA: Chris Glacken, Beck Butler
ACT: Allicia Heron, Martin Fryer, Matt Griggs
NSW: Jane Trumper, Ben Berriman, Kevin Heaton
VIC: Donna Urquhart, John Yoon, Nikki Wynd, Isobel Ross, George Mihalakellis
WA: Julia Mackay
TAS: Amy Lamprecht

We had a good turnout of members live on the call and enough proxies to form a quorum. The committee gave an update on all the challenges and successes of the year. Following elections, the floor was open for a discussion with the attending members.

Being a full new committee last year meant we spent the season getting to understand the core of AURA, the processes around running the association and implementing our ideas and initiates. We are looking forward to the second year together to build on last years foundation.

A thank you to Julia who was a big help to the committee, working as Secretary and has now moved to the WA state rep role. 

Special mention needs to go to 3 volunteers who have put a lot into AURA over the years. As Australian reps, committee members and also in specialised roles.

A big thanks to Jodie Oborne who finished up as records and ranking officer last year. Jodie has been in the role for 6 years and worked hard on setting a high standard for our national and age-group records. Her meticulous process and documentation has helped with the handover to Tia Jones and keeping the records high quality.

Kerrie Bremner has been a huge help looking after the IAU Event Compliance which allows records to be ratified. She has spent the last 7 years working with race directors, the committee and the IAU to make sure races are certified. This covers course measurement, following of criteria, the paperwork and working closely with the records officer to verify the record applications. We appreciate Kerrie staying on last year to help the new committee learn more about the role, its intricacies and support Mathew Eckford in taking it over.

A massive thank you to Susannah Harvey-Jamieson who has been a QLD state rep for the last 10 years! Apart from racing for Australia at the World Championships Susannah has represented AURA at numerous races, Australian championships and sadly 3 funerals (Proudly on behalf of AURA). A highlight for her was being on ABC radio with Keith Sullivan and Ben Duffus talking about all things ultra running. 

Here’s to a great 2021.

Ewan Horsburgh
AURA President