The 2017 Australian 48 Hour Championships were held in Canberra from Friday 17 March, and Mick Thwaites made it two championships in a row when he was crowned the Australian men’s champion after clocking up a huge 404.5km.
The women’s championship was won by Sabina Hamaty with a terrific 301.9km.
The women’s race was actually won by Susan Keith, however as Susan wasn’t an AURA member she did not qualify to win the championships. A reminder to everyone that you need to be an AURA member to qualify for Australian Championships and to be selected to run for you country. You never know when you will do something extraordinary! Join here:
I am happy to report Susan is now a member. 🙂